I Like My Dog More Than I Like You!

I love animals. I would love to live on a large piece of land with a bunch of animals. I used to dream of turning the property I grew up on into a dog rescue. I have always had dogs. When I had a miscarriage before Bug was conceived I needed something to love but did not have the time to give proper training and love to another dog, we had one at the time. So we got Emma (mama). She turned me into a cat lover.

We currently have 1 dog Daisy Mae and 2 cats, Mama and Diva. My animals live in our home. They eat, sleep, and do their business within the boundaries of our home/yard. They are members of our family. If my house was burning down I would make sure my children were safe and then my animals and then any material possessions I might be able to save. We have had tornado warnings I have had to think about where we would hide with our animals for safety. When they are not acting right I worry about them the same as I do Sissy and Bug. I have spent many hours worrying about their bowel movements. I walk Daisy Mae on the street for a portion of our walk because there is glass on the sidewalk and I don’t want her getting glass in her paw. You see my maternal instinct does not just run to my kids and my friend’s kids when they are over but to my animals as well.

I say this because do not come to my home and expect that magically they do not exist. Do not come to my home and expect me to shut them in a room somewhere. If you are scared of animals my home is not the place for you. I would not ask you to get rid of your kids if I came over to your house, even is they are total a*holes. Do not expect that because you are afraid, nervous, unsure of animals that mine will magically be somewhere else if you come to my house.

This I can promise you. Daisy Mae will get excited and will wag her tail and dance around when she sees you. She will sniff you relentlessly. She has been trained not to jump on people but in her old age and excitement sometimes she forgets but she will be put in her place if she does. She may lick your hand but not your face. She may sit next to you on the couch. If you sit in her spot she will throw some shade your way. When you are first walking up to my house you may hear her bark. She is letting us know that someone is coming, that is her job. Once that door is open and she is able to sniff you she will not bark. I have no doubt if you tried to harm her kids she would get defensive. She doesn’t like it when we play rough with them. She is a member of this family and you are not. Mama and Diva could care less if you are here or not. They may come by and let you pet them. They may stay far away. Mama’s dander causes me to have allergic reactions. Guess what she is still here. She will always be here. I have learned to keep benadryl in the house for when things get bad and I have gotten used to being just a little congested all the time. If I am allergic to my cat and yet I still love her and keep her around what makes you think just because you are coming over for a visit I will keep her out of your sight. I won’t.

Please educate yourself and your children about domestic animals and how to act around them. Teach them to ask the owner before approaching a dog they do not know. Teach them that not all dogs are mean and they have to be taught to be that way. Teach them that cats could care less about them. Your visit to my home will be a lot less stressful if you do. See I love my animals. I like you just enough to allow you into my home. The people I love love my animals too and they know how things roll in this house.

“Until one has loved an animal a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” -Anatole France

Leave a comment