A Little Bit Ashamed

A few weeks ago tragedy struck the Girl Scout community world wide. A troop was collecting trash along a road for a community service project when an out of control driver hit four girls and one adult. Three of the girls were killed and one was sent to the hospital in critical condition. The adult was also killed. This struck a little too close to home because these girls were the same level as Sissy and half of our troop.

I am a part of multiple GS facebook groups. There was an outpouring of love and support for all the victims, their families, and the GS community most impacted. There was also critics about if the proper safety protocols were followed. Were safety vests worn. Did the leaders file proper paperwork. Many things trying to place blame on the leaders, the troop, etc and not the man who killed them, left the scene and later turned himself in. Are you serious? Blame placed on leaders and girls who were trying to do a community service project? These adults pointing blame are the same that are leading our young women.

Now, a nationwide vigil was planned where donations were made to help the families. There is some evidence to suggest that it was not a GS sanctioned event, despite that it had the GS name atrached. There is implications that proper protocols in regards to donations were not followed. There are implications that the council is money hungry and just wanted to be in control. One of the many leaders who planned it, seems to the head of the group of leaders, was “permanently suspended” from her volunteer roles within her troop, service unit, and council. Basically she was fired. The council has rules that will not allow it to comment. I have seen a post from the leader in question. I have read a couple of articles, and will post one, about the situation. I do not know the woman in question. I am not a part of the council in question. I am ashamed of the way all of this is being laid out to the world. This woman who has given her time for years to lead young women is being placed on the pyre by all the people who would see her burn for what may or may not be a mistake or a blatant disregard for the rules. They would have her girls lose their leadership forever rather than allow her to right her wrongs. Her heart was in the right place. From what I have gathered she wanted to help the families affected by this tragedy not the council who is a business and while impacted will keep moving forward, business as usual. I know if I were laying my daughter in the ground it would mean more if people reached out to me and not the council she was a part of and chances are no one in the council office even knew her name before she passed. Before everyone thinks I am coming for the council let me defend them too. GS is a non profit but it is also a business. There are rules and protocols in place to protect the troops, service units, council and GSUSA. Tax laws apply to the troops and how funds are handled. As a leader there are rules I have to follow because we need to protect ourselves and ultimately our girls. If this woman put the GS name to an event and collected money the rules regarding donations needed to be followed or the GS name needed to be taken out of the equation.

I am a little bit ashamed right now to be affliated with the GS name. At a time when we should be grieving and supporting the injured girl we are tearing each other apart. Shots fired against a council who was acting according to their rules. Actions maybe extreme but I was not a part of any conversations between this woman and her council. I was not privy to any advice or warnings given to this woman in regards to her event and donations. Shots fired at this woman for, maybe, not following the rules and going rogue. At the end of the day what is forgotten is that there is now a troop without a leader they know and trust. There are troops who may have donated funds and wanted to help the families directly that now may not know if they did that. Girls are watching these leaders attack each other and the council and seeing this is how you handle conflict.

I am ashamed because as Girl Scout I promise to do my best to be

honest and fair,
friendly and helpful,
considerate and caring,
courageous and strong, and
responsible for what I say and do,
and to
respect myself and others,
respect authority,
use resources wisely,
make the world a better place, and
be a sister to every Girl Scout.

The words and actions I am seeing across social media are so far from the law we promise to live by. It breaks my heart and I am ashamed.

Here is one of the articles written in regards to this situation. This is not a new outlet I am affliated with or even read. Simply just one that I found quickly and was shared in a GS group I am a part of on facebook. https://www.wbay.com/content/news/Girl-Scouts-suspend-Green-Bay-troop-leader-behind-vigils-and-memorial-patch-500884872.html

Leave a comment